John R. Lewis Library: 2024 HOA IA: Databases

The following list of databases is good for general information & background research NOT SCHOLARLY

ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple ABC-CLIO databases. Good place for background information and starting research. Includes:
-Articles
-Videos
-Photographs and Art
-eBooks
American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Good place for background information on United States History and starting research. Includes:
-Articles
-Videos
-Audio
-Photographs and Art
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) * This link opens in a new window
History from the Renaissance to today. Good first stop to build background knowledge.
Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
High school leveled materials that include thousands of:
-articles
-images
-videos
-audio clips
-primary sources
-maps

The following list of databases contain SCHOLARLY information

Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
Excellent scholarly database for deeper research. Over 10,000 full-text scholarly journals. Also includes general reference with editorial content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.
Masterfile Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- eBook High School Collection
- Advanced Placement Source
- Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
- Art & Architecture Source
- Environment Complete
- Education Source
- Humanities Source Ultimate
- Political Science Complete
- Sociology Source Ultimate
- Masterfile Reference eBook Collection
Issues and Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of Public Opinion Polls—Perfect for Research, Debates, and Discussions
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Explore the arts, sports & recreation, everyday life, and communication in America, both past and present

ADVANCED ONLINE SEARCHING TECHNIQUES

Quotation Marks: Notifies the computer to treat a phrase as one single word, rather than searching on each word individually.

Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT Used to combine terms and therefore limit results.

Truncation: Searching different forms of a word.

Wildcard: Taking into account UK spelling, plurals, unknown spelling, and other forms of the word.

ALL DATABASES: ? replaces one character
- defen?e finds defense (American spelling) and defence (UK spelling)
- theat?? Finds theater and theatre

Nesting: Using parentheses to combine different commands, telling the computer which order to complete them.

Subject Headings: The controlled vocabulary every article and book is cataloged under.

Keyword: bullying
Subject Heading: Adolescent Aggressiveness
- *Use Subject Guide Search in Academic OneFile to narrow subject focus.