John R. Lewis Library: English Learners MYP Personal Project: MYP Databases

English Learners

MYP Personal Project

Databases

What's a Database?

A library database is a collection of different resources reviewed, written and collected by a database publisher.

Why are databases good sources?

General Databases that fit many topics:

World Book Portal This link opens in a new window
General Reference: Select from a list of World Book products available for research.
Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
High school leveled materials that include thousands of:
-articles
-images
-videos
-audio clips
-primary sources
-maps

Not finding what you need? We are here for you!

Librarian, HS

Librarian, HS

Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.

Authors, Writing and Performing Arts Databases

Music Databases

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The database offers a one-stop source for full-text current news and searchable archives.

Food, Culture and Customs Databases

Food Databases

Culture & Customs Databases

Culture Grams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Resources on world's countries and peoples
Factcite: Lincoln Library Online * This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia articles on Mythology
Easy citation through NoodleTools integration. Just click to import sources!
World Geography (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Focus on:
-geographic
-political
-social
-economic
-and cultural forces in our globalized world.

Health and Science Databases

Image result for health icon Health Databases

Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.

Science Databases

Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.