John R. Lewis Library: Geospatial: Data mapping project: Best Bets for Books

Weather

Weather and Climate by Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: 551.5 WEA
ISBN: 9780816061693
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Divine Wind by Kerry A. Emanuel
Call Number: 551.552 EMA
ISBN: 9780195149418
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Weather and Climate Experiments by Pamela Walker
Call Number: 551.63 WAL
ISBN: 9780816078080
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones by David Longshore
Call Number: R 551.55 LON
ISBN: 9780816062959
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
National Geographic Extreme Weather Survival Guide by Thomas M. Kostigen
Call Number: 613.69 KOS
ISBN: 9781426213762
Publication Date: 2014-10-21

Biomes: Forest, Ocean, Fresh Water

Forest Conservation Policy by V. Alaric Sample; Antony S. Cheng
Call Number: 333.75 SAM
ISBN: 9781576079911
Publication Date: 2003-12-08
Freshwater Supply by Frank Caso
Call Number: 333.91 CAS
ISBN: 9780816078264
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Oceans by Dana Desonie
Call Number: 551.46 DES
ISBN: 9780816062164
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Temperate Forest Biomes by Bernd H. Kuennecke
Call Number: 577.3 KUE
ISBN: 9780313340185
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
Endangered Oceans by Louise I. Gerdes
Call Number: 577.7 END
ISBN: 9780737742107
Publication Date: 2008-12-19

Alternative Energy

Critical Perspectives on Energy and Power
Call Number: 333.79 CRI
ISBN: 9781404206892
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Energy Use Worldwide by Zachary A. Smith; Jacey McCurtain; Mildred Vasan (Editor); Jaina L. Moan
Call Number: 333.79
ISBN: 9781851098903
Publication Date: 2007-07-18
Powering the Future by Eva Thaddeus
Call Number: 333.79 THA
ISBN: 9780826349019
Publication Date: 2010-08-16
Renewable and Alternative Energy by Robert Curley
Call Number: 621.042 REN
ISBN: 9781615304882
Publication Date: 2011-08-01

Global Warming / Pollution

Greenhouse Gases by Julie Kerr Casper, PhD
Call Number: 363.73 CAS
ISBN: 9780816072644
Publication Date: 2010
The Role of Industry by Tom Streissguth
Call Number: 363.73 STR
ISBN: 9780737751765
Publication Date: 2011-06-21
The Atlas of Climate Change by Kirstin Dow; Thomas E. Downing
Call Number: 551.6 DOW
ISBN: 9780520268234
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Chasing Ecosystems: Effects of Global Warming by Julie Kerr Casper, PhD
Call Number: 577.276 CAS
ISBN: 9780816072637
Publication Date: 2010
Critical Perspectives on World Climate by Katy Human
Call Number: 551.6 CRI
ISBN: 9781404206885
Publication Date: 2006-07-01

Animal Habitats

National Geographic Reference Atlas to the Birds of North America by Mel Baughman (Editor); U. S. National Geographic Society Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 598.097 REF
ISBN: 9780792233732
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The Bee Book by Emma Tennant (Contribution by); Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 595.799 CHA
ISBN: 9781465443830
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Marine Geology by Jon Erickson; Timothy Kusky (Foreword by)
Call Number: 551.46 ERI
ISBN: 9780816050772
Publication Date: 2003-02-01
Animal Habitats by Tony Hare
Call Number: 599.1564 HAR
ISBN: 9780816045938
Publication Date: 2001-03-01

Library Catalog Links

Lewis Library Catalog

Fairfax County Public Libraries

Books & eBooks: Quicktips

These Ebook collections are contained within a database.

When you are not at school, Databases require passwords.

This link will provide access to the passwords. You must sign in to your FCPS gmail account in order to view the document.

When searching the library catalog remember to select & search within Lee Library first.
EBOOKs are cataloged and the record provides a link to the database where the book is housed. Passwords are required when accessing the eBooks outside of school.
Within the library catalog, under Library Info there are convenient links to the FCPS Digital Books (eBooks), FCPS Online databases and the Fairfax County Public Library

Use books after getting an overview from print and digital reference sources.

Books can be very detailed. If you start with a 400+ page book on a subject, you will may start to feel overwhelmed.

Remember: overview first.

Consider searching all FCPS school libraries and the Fairfax County Public Libraries for this project.

Ask one of the Lee Librarians for help with interlibrary loan for a book you would like to borrow from a nearby Fairfax County public or school library.

The OCLC World Catalog is a good way to find a book in a nearby library that might be helpful for your research. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>