IB Music Musical Links Investigation: Websites

BBC's mission: To enrich people's lives with programmes and services that inform, educate and entertain.

The International Music Score Library Project shares public domain music

The Recorded Sound Reference Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings.

The Music Library contains over 70,000 books and scores, 46,000 recordings and other media including video tapes and computer software, and current subscriptions to approximately 300 periodicals. Subjects covered include acoustics and physics of music, ethnomusicology, jazz, music education, and the history, literature, theory and performance of music.

Virginia Commonwealth University"s Music Theory program website.

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Here at Last.fm we believe there’s an infinite universe of music out there and we want to help the world navigate, explore and enjoy even more of it.
We bring together your favourite music services and join up listening, watching and sharing to connect your musical world.

The Open Music Library is a new initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music. Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

Putumayo World Music was established in 1993 to introduce people to the music of the world’s cultures.

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, the national museum of the United States. We are dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound.

World Music Central is an online magazine dedicated to World Music. We feature the latest international news, CD and concert reviews, articles, and many resources (in the form of a wiki) for music fans, industry professionals and researchers. Our definition of World Music includes traditional and contemporary folk and roots music from the entire globe, as well as cross-cultural fusions and hybrids.

The popular website is the number one spot for all things ‘world music’, acting as a portal that features up-to-date news, previews, a guide sections, exclusive charts and an original Battle of the Bands competition.