John R. Lewis Library: Biology (Science Fair): Databases

Best Bets for Science Databases

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Academic articles, news, images, biographies, and more covering all major scientific disciplines.

Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
Good starting information to ground you in topic.
Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics

Shows how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
full-text
environmental academic journals
Topics include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability.

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The database offers a one-stop source for full-text current news and searchable archives.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.

When you are not at school, Databases require passwords.

You must sign in to your FCPS gmail account in order to view the document

Databases make citing sources as easy as possible:

Need more help?

Databases

Paid for by the library.
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included might not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Databases:

Depending upon the type, often include many types of information.

For example:

Use search limit fields to receive back the type of information you need for your assignment.