Skip to Main Content
Lewis HS FCPS
yellow line

World History I: Investigating Greece: Home

Ancient Greece

Databases are great!

Things to remember when using databases

  1. Databases require Passwords when using them outside of school
  2. The first 2 documents you will use for this assignment provide ready made MLA citations 
    1. The citation tool for each database (company) is slightly different. Use the table below to help navigate to the citation tools.
  3. The third document requires you to build the citation
    1. Use the citations in the example notecard for guidance

 

Best Bets for Databases
Note Card #1: GOVERNMENT in ATHENS Citation tool in Britannica School

Britannica School tools widget

 

1. Select the Citation tool (box with the checkmark)

2. The default citation style is MLA - copy and paste the citation from the database
Note Card #2: REFORMS to GOVERNMENT in ATHENS

Citation tool in ABC CLIO 

ABC CLIO citation tool widget 1.  Select Cite

2. Select the MLA citation for the article
Note Card #3: GOVERNMENT in SPARTA

Citation tip for note card #3

“Title of Article.” Name of database. Publisher of database. Date article was written. URL for the article. Date you accessed the article.

***The 2nd line of an MLA citations should have a hanging indent. So it should look like this. 

Greece Investigation Notecards: assignment documents

Library standards

explore

engage

inquire

include

curate

 

Need help? Ask a librarian

Profile Photo
Mimi Marquet
Contact:
John R. Lewis High School Library
6540 Franconia Road, Springfield, VA 22150