John R. Lewis Library: 2016-2025 IB Extended Essay: Databases

Lewis Library Database passwords

Additional Database Resources

Fairfax County Public Library Databases

Fairfax County Public Library offers access to:

CQ Researcher
Explora
New York Times historical archive (1851- 2014)
A variety of newspaper archives including local newspapers

*** Fairfax County Public Library card required for access to FCPL databases

Not every book found in Google Books is scholarly; however, you may find some very helpful scholarly titles. Select: Find in a Library to see if it's available at a library near you.

Most articles found here are not full text; however, you may search our databases, the public library's databases, or NOVA's databases for the full text versions.

Best Bets for databases about Social Studies topics

ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple ABC-CLIO databases. Good place for background information and starting research. Includes:
-Articles
-Videos
-Photographs and Art
-eBooks
Culture Grams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Resources on world's countries and peoples
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Resource covering today’s hottest social issues--from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.
U.S. History In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Best bets for databases about Literature

Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes:
-literary works
-information on authors
-literary criticism
-photographs
-audio
-videos
Special features:
topic finder, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation

Best Bets for databases about Science

Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Science eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
An eBook collection of science reference books.
Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics

Shows how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity