Skip to Main Content

Lewis HS

FCPS

yellow line

English Basics: English Research Basics Home

English Research Basics

Noodletools

Looking for help with Noodletools? Start Here!

General Background Knowledge Databases

Factcite: Lincoln Library Online * This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia articles on Mythology
Easy citation through NoodleTools integration. Just click to import sources!
Britannica School - High This link opens in a new window
High school leveled materials that include thousands of:
-articles
-images
-videos
-audio clips
-primary sources
-maps

Image Databases

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights cleared images for student use.

Excellent source for images for student projects. Wide range of topics from historical to present day.

Literature Databases

LITERATURE DATABASES

Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes:
-literary works
-information on authors
-literary criticism
-photographs
-audio
-videos
Special features:
topic finder, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

History Databases

Historical or Contemporary Databases

ABC-CLIO Portal This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple ABC-CLIO databases. Good place for background information and starting research. Includes:
-Articles
-Videos
-Photographs and Art
-eBooks
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The database offers a one-stop source for full-text current news and searchable archives.

Want more help? Contact a librarian!

she/ her/ hers

Email Me

Contact:

John R. Lewis High School Library
6540 Franconia Road, Springfield, VA 22150